How to answer: why do you want to work here? | Design interview

Niki Tisza
2 min readSep 11, 2021
Photo by Headway on Unsplash

Here’s a winning answer for you

I’ve been inspired by your company’s brand, style, and tone of voice for years, so when I saw the open position, I instantly knew I had to apply.

I was especially inspired by [the campaign with the local plant-based restaurants your team did last year — replace this with a specific example that impressed or inspired you].

I admire the creativity that comes out of this agency, and I think I could use my newly acquired skills (and/or experience) as a designer to become a valued contributor to the agency’s future success.

I think I’d make a great fit & I’d love to be part of such a hard-working team.

Pro tip: show that you’ve researched the company before the interview.

I released a video about the 5 most common interview questions with answers, check it out: https://youtu.be/uwDE2rKeAAQ

➡ Or download FREE interview cheatsheet by signing up to my monthly design newsletter: https://mailchi.mp/c7ed20b3a9b2/newsletter

If you liked this post, here are 3 things you can do to support me:

  1. 👏 Give the article a clap.
  2. 🤞Follow me for upcoming articles: email sub or membership sub.
  3. 💌 Sign up for my free newsletter (receive freebies) and YouTube channel to learn UX & UI design and level up your career.

Of course, you can always reach out to me on Twitter to continue the conversation.

--

--